22 Students Awarded Scholarships

The North Carolina Home Builders Educational and Charitable Foundation recently awarded $29,500 in scholarships to 22 deserving recipients for the 2023-2024 academic year.

“These students represent the future of the construction workforce,” said Tim Minton, Executive Vice President of the North Carolina Home Builders Association. “We are proud to provide scholarships to these hardworking students as they gain the skills to pursue a career in the construction industry.”

The foundation presented a total of 19 new Workforce Development Regional Scholarships – including 7 overall winners and 12 honorable mention winners to the following students:

Region One Winner

  • Geoffrey Edwards
    Newport, NC
    Carteret Community College

Region One Honorable Mention Recipients

  • Ramon Banda
    Warsaw, NC
    Sampson Community College
  • Joshua Linares
    Magnolia, NC
    James Sprunt Community College
  • Jacob Nelson
    Beaufort, NC
    Lenoir Community College

Region Two Winner

  • Trace Christman
    Nashville, NC
    Nash Community College

Region Two Honorable Mention Recipient

  • John Garris
    Roanoke Rapids, NC
    Halifax Community College

Region Three Winner

  • Jonathan Bobo
    Kinston, NC
    Lenoir Community College

Region Three Honorable Mention Recipient

  • Tyler Pencola
    Garner, NC
    Wake Tech Community College

Region Four Winner

  • Tyler Leak
    Eden, NC
    Rockingham Community College

Region Four Honorable Mention Recipient

  • Dylan Roth
    Ramseur, NC
    Guilford Tech Community College

Region Six Winner

  • Gage Plaisted
    Harrisburg, NC
    Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Region Six Honorable Mention Recipients

  • Brian Diaz
    China Grove, NC
    Rowan-Cabarrus Community College
  • Houston Jenkins
    Crouse, NC
    Gaston Community College
  • Lucas Tarlton
    Monroe, NC
    Universal Technical Institute

Region Seven Winner

  • Chance Mastin
    North Wilkesboro, NC
    Wilkes Community College

Region Seven Honorable Mention Recipients

  • Gavin Dowell
    Wilkes Community College
  • Chance Preston
    Wilkes Community College

Region Eight Winner

  • Jackson Owen
    Brevard, NC
    Blue Ridge Community College

Region Eight Honorable Mention Recipients 

  • Zaydin Pritchard
    Morganton, NC
    Caldwell Community College

The foundation also presented three other scholarships, including the first-ever recipients of the James Michael Carpenter NCSU Scholarship Award and the Sean Sullivan Tradesperson Scholarship. These recipients included:

James Michael Carpenter NCSU Scholarship Award Winner

  • Ben Hutchins
    Rutherfordton, NC
    North Carolina State University

Sean Sullivan Scholarship Award Winner

  • Mark Anderson
    Weaverville, NC
    Asheville-Buncombe Community College

NC Home Builders Educational & Charitable Foundation, Inc. Scholarship Winner

  • Jake Parrott
    Wake Forest, NC
    North Carolina State University

2024 Quarterly Meetings

February 13
NCHBA 1st Quarter Board Meeting
June 4-5
NCHBA Legislative Conference & 2nd Quarter Board Meeting
November 12
NCHBA Third Quarter Board Meeting
December 10
NCHBA 4th Quarter Board Meeting & Installation

Thank You to Our NCHBA Business partners!

Get in Touch:   Call   Text   Email